Tutorial Overload

Oh YouTube how I love you so….but the tutorials are getting a bit much.  For instance, I am going to be 48 this year.  While the skin gods have smiled down on me for years, I see that it is time to switch up my skincare and makeup game…momma is starting to show a little wear.

So I go to YouTube to see what everyone who thinks they are anyone recommends, and do you know there are hundreds upon hundreds of product reviewers.  HUNDREDS.  Most of them are young, late teens to mid thirties.  Very few in my age category, and I noticed that they all mostly review the same products around the same times (this I later found out was due to the fact that most of these “reviewers” get free product from the manufacturers of said product in exchange for an online review.)  There are a few who actually go out and buy the products and give their unbiased opinions…those are gold.

Another part of the world that is starting make me twitch is the business guru sector.  Everyone is a business expert.  Everyone is more than happy to take the money you don’t have and tell you the exact same things the next guru is going to tell you.  I know this, because I have tried several, I have worked my ass off and you know what…the money that I paid basically comes down to what I can embroider on a coaster and give to everyone…..my advice……because I have literally done it all, paid for it all, and in the end….you don’t get a refund for being stupid.

In the end…I have a product I am proud of, a website I am still working on, and a brand name that I think is pretty damn kick ass creative.  Could I have gotten this far on my own?  Maybe, maybe not.  I know I would not have a trademark, better product photography, and a better(not perfect, but getting there)brand voice without help…so there is that!

Anyway, those are my thoughts for the day.  If you would like to see who I do watch on YouTube for makeup and skincare advice, look below.  I will also share links to products I absolutely love.  And, I will share my website link so you can see what 9 years of blood, sweat, tears and a whole lot of cash has gotten me so far.  I’m pretty proud of my journey, even if it has taken me forever to get to this point.

YouTubers who are over 40 and full of great advice:

Hot & Flashy

Unique Monique

My skincare and makeup links:

Clinique’s Three Step System—I use #3 Comination Oily-Oily because I still produce oil like a teenager despite the fact that the rest of my body is dry

(I’ve also started the Dior Capture Totale One Essential & Dreamskin treatments…I’ll follow up with this once I’ve used it for more than a month….these treatments are not cheap so we shall see if they live up to the hype!)

Urban Decay—The Ride or Die Best Foundation Ever—-I use 3.5 in the summer, and in the winter I’ll use the new 3.25.  I have tried their other foundations and found this one to be the best for buildability, and plays nice with both brushes and beauty blenders

Diorshow Mascara

Laura Mercier Setting (and baking) powder—This stuff is amaze-balls good….as long as you don’t put it on heavily!  I use a damp beauty blender to put some under my eyes and around my oily areas…and it is stay all day HOLY SHIT wow.

And I use a variety of blushes……I’ve got a lot of stuff sitting around…

And if you really want some business advice and just kinda need a little kick in the pants(cuz who doesn’t like that from time to time…eh?)  I do highly recommend :

Lela Barker of Lucky Break Consulting

Modern Soapmaking with Kenna Cote

And….there is a young man right here in my state who is making a lot of waves with his hands on getting to know a company while he works with them technique…his name is Jerrod Sumner of Brandtabulous.  I have met this man and he is amazing, but am waiting to gather up some monies to work with him…as I’d love to get the last few blocks of my branding down and in hard copy as far as my website and packaging looking.

And lest we forget the reason for this blog in the first place:  Plaid & Rose 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

